Our deepest sympathies to the family of the woman who tragically died when Driver 1, who appeared to have been drinking, crashed into her car in Burnsville, Minnesota.
We see too many cases where a drunk driver causes severe injury or wrongful death. In Minnesota, the criminal penalty for the first DWI offense is 90 days in jail and/or a $1000 fine. That is not enough. The fine should be like the traffic fines in Finland, which are based on income. A millionaire got pulled over for speeding and got the equivalent of a $60,000 fine. It should hurt more financially the first time someone is caught driving while intoxicated, and maybe it would not happen again.
The Accident Report
Driver 1 was driving east on Highway 13 when he went off the road and struck a Toyta Corolla that was stopped at the intersection of Nicollet Avenue and Highway 13. The impact sent both cars down an embankment. The driver of the Corolla died at the scene. Driver 1 walked away from the crash.
Criminal Vehicular Homicide
Driver 1 appeared drunk at the time of the crash, and tests showed his blood-alcohol concentration was above the legal limit. He is being held, without bail, in the Dakota County jail on suspicion of criminal vehicular homicide. He is scheduled for an appearance tomorrow in Dakota County District Court.