Collision at an Intersection
When collision happens in an intersection, it is important to determine if one of the drivers violated Minnesota turning laws (169.19, subd.1).
- A right turn has to be made as close as practicable to the curb or edge of the roadway.
- A left turn has to be made from the correct lane, to the right of the center line. When the approach is from a two-way roadway into a one-way roadway, it shall be made in that portion of the right half of the roadway nearest the center line thereof and by passing to the right of such center line where it enters the intersection. If from a one-way roadway into a two-way roadway, it shall be made from the left hand lane and by passing to the right of the centerline of the roadway being entered upon leaving the intersection. Where both streets or roadways are one way, it shall be made as close as practicable to the left-hand curb or edge of the roadway.
- Whenever it is necessary for the driver of a motor vehicle to cross a bicycle lane, a bicycle that is near the intersection has the right-of-way.
- No u-turns near curves, the crest of a grade, where the vehicle turning cannot be seen by the driver of any other vehicle approaching from either direction within 1,000 feet, or unless it can be done safety and without interfering with other traffic (169.19, subd.2).
Moving from a Parked Position
A driver shall not move a vehicle which is stopped, standing, or parked unless and until such movement can be made with reasonable safety (169.19, subd.3).
A vehicle operator can only move right or left upon a highway when the movement can be made with reasonable safety, after giving an appropriate signal—take heed drivers who swerve at the last minute to get onto a freeway ramp or carelessly change lanes (169.19, subd.4).
A driver shall signal an intention continuously during not less than the last 100 feet traveled by the vehicle before turning (Minnesota Statutes, Sec. 169.19, subd.5).
A driver shall not stop or suddenly decrease the speed of a vehicle without first giving an appropriate signal to the driver of any vehicle immediately to the rear, unless there is a good and sufficient reason for not being able to do so (Minnesota Statutes, Sec. 169.19, subd.6).
Compensation for Personal Injury Victims and Families with Wrongful Death Claims
Violating Minnesota traffic laws is prima facie evidence of driver negligence. If the defendent does not provide sufficient evidence to the contrary, the driver at fault, the owner of the vehicle (for example a car or commercial truck), and others may be liable for damages, meaning they are responsible for compensating the victim(s) of the crash and their families for losses suffered.
If you have been in a Minnesota car collision and the other driver violated a Minnesota traffic law, you may have a claim for the following:
- Medical expenses;
- Lost income;
- Pain and suffering (includes physical pain, disfigurement, disability and emotional distress);
- Cost of care;
- Other damages.
The bottom line is safe driving. Every driver is required to use reasonable care when driving. But every day, drivers violate laws and cause harm to others. Our clients have included:
- Drivers of cars, motorcycles and bicycles;
Our law firm is listed in The Best Law Firms in America. Our lawyers have recovered millions for our clients. They have been interviewed by The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, CNN, CBS News, Fox News, KARE-TV, KSTP-TV, WCCO-TV and others.
Our lawyers have won several car accident settlements over a million dollars and have distinguished themselves in the areas of personal injury, wrongful death, and product liability. If you have been in a crash and want to understand your legal rights and remedies against the driver of a vehicle, insurance companies, dram shops, vehicle manufacturers and others, contact a lawyer at our law firm for a free consultation: 612-338-0202. Our offices are in Minneapolis, MN, and we represent clients throughout the state.
For additional information, please see the following: