Food Safety Scholarship


U.S. citizens enrolled full time (12 credit hours per semester) in an accredited university or college in the United States for the 2016-17 school year with a cumulative GPA of 2.75 (or 3.0 for incoming college freshman) or higher on a 4.0 scale. The PritzkerOlsen Food Safety Scholarship will be awarded to a student whose essays demonstrate a drive to improve food safety and protect public health.


List of TopicsAny student who fits the eligibility requirements listed above can apply for the PritzkerOlsen scholarship. To enter, a student must submit two 300-500 word essays on two of the food safety topics listed on this page.

For submission, simply email your essays and a signed content contribution agreement (as an attachment in PDF or Word format) to to Include the following in your email:

  • your full name
  • your address
  • the school you will be attending in 2016-17.


The essay submission deadline is 12:00 midnight EST June 1st. Essays will then be reviewed by the PritzkerOlsen Scholarship Committee and the winner will be announced on the PritzkerOlsen website on August 1st. The winner will also be notified via email.


All essays received will be reviewed by the PritzkerOlsen Scholarship Committee, including Fred Pritzker, founder and president of the national personal injury law firm, PritzkerOlsen P.A.

One winner will be chosen for the spring and fall academic semesters. Once the winner has been determined, the winner will be announced on the PritzkerOlsen website. The winner will also be notified via email and corresponding letter by PritzkerOlsen.


The scholarship funds awarded are to be used for tuition and books only. Once awarded, a check will be written to the recipient’s school of choice and credited for academic costs. This scholarship is non-renewable and is only good for a one-year cycle. Recipients are only eligible to receive the scholarship once during their lifetime.

Food Safety QuizQUESTIONS?

PritzkerOlsen law firm will select and award the essay winner a $3,000 scholarship. Again, the deadline for the 2016-17 academic year is June 1, 2016.

Any questions on the scholarship essay contest can be directed to Allison Wasz at

Meet Fred Pritzker

Founder of PritzkerOlsen P.A., Fred Pritzker, has decades of experience litigating foodborne illness claims. He has successfully taken on some of the largest food companies in the world. Click here to learn more about Fred.